All about kayaking from the San Francisco Bay Area

STRANGE

Today my boat leaves my protection and is under the care of my friend who’s driving to TX, transporting not only his boat but two others for the CR100.  Here’s my boat, all “packaged”  on my car.  In a couple of hours I’ll drive all my gear and equipment for delivery to my friend’s house.  He starts a  long trip to Bastrop early tomorrow; the start of the race on Sept. 4.

It’s going to be very strange just hanging out the next week.  I begin my vacation next Tues., but don’t fly to Austin until Thurs. morning. No paddling; that’s strange.  No gear to clean or organize; that’s strange.  My bathroom totally uncluttered of drying gear; that’s strange.  No checking for wind advisories; that’s strange. In fact, I’m wondering what I’m going to do with myself this weekend and the first 2 days of vacation since my kayak and gear is all gone?  Very strange.

eat well, sleep well….paddle fast!  Training miles:  all done (strange)

4 responses

  1. Wishing you success and hoping you have a great time on your coming trip.

    S.

    August 27, 2010 at 8:58 AM

    • Thanks again Stan. I’m ready and a little anxious. In a way I wish it were this weekend. Too much time to think. (-:

      August 27, 2010 at 1:24 PM

  2. The training alone is a fantastic achievement! Best wishes for the event itself.

    August 27, 2010 at 11:25 PM

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.