All about kayaking from the San Francisco Bay Area

Archive for March 13, 2010

UP THE CREEK WITH A PADDLE

I was supposed to be on the water today, but…………when you’re a mom some of the best made plans don’t work out.  My daughter called with a horrible earache in the middle of the night.  Only being an hour away I went and got her because the student health center is closed on the weekends and I wanted her to see her physician ASAP, as finals start Monday.  She’s got her meds and back to bed, and I’m left trying to figure out the logistics for the rest of the weekend until she wakes again.

On another note, after a couple of sessions with a few different paddles I finally bought one.  I tried a couple of Werner’s, which I really liked.

the Cyprus

I paddled with the Cyprus for a couple of hours.  It is really light and I really like the way it felt in my hands and through the power phase of my stroke.  Later in the week I took a 2 hour paddle with a wing.  I am grateful for the personal instruction I received, and when all was said and done, I couldn’t resist that little “airplane blade.”  Told you I broke the bank again!

Epic Mid-Wing

new boat and paddle

So, sometime this weekend I’ll be on the water to measure out some training distances and practicing with my new paddle.  Very cool, because I’m getting to know some locations near work which put me on the water within minutes. In a few weeks I’m hoping to go around Alameda Island which is a 12 mile outing, and with the time change this weekend I’ll have a few more hours of sunlight to my day.  Just excited about all the new things I’m learning and areas I’m discovering.  Which I might add, are just out my back door.