All about kayaking from the San Francisco Bay Area

D’OH

Well, I know I should be easier on myself, but today I spent all the time getting ready, loading gear and kayak, and driving to the put -in.  All went well, boat unloaded, gear OUT of the car next to the kayak.  Oh no, where’s that PFD?

I couldn’t believe it.  I’d left it hanging to dry over the shower rod after last Thursday’s outing!  I contemplated whether I should go without one (I’m an excellent swimmer).  I knew that really wasn’t a wise decision, even though the weather was calm and I could stay close to shore all the while; I was also solo. I thought, here’s one of those times when you’re decision-making is tested;  a process that requires discipline. Well, I didn’t go.  I packed everything up and drove home. Please tell me I’m not the only one who’s done something so stupid! I guess it’s a training day with a HR monitor on the bike.

3 responses

  1. You’re definitely not the only one! At different times I’ve forgotten spraydecks and cags. My son forgot to take any kind of foorwear for a river trip in the middle of winter once. He ended up making shoes out of duck tape. They lasted several days but were quite hard to take off.

    March 22, 2010 at 12:59 PM

    • That makes me feel a little better….I think.

      March 23, 2010 at 11:20 AM

  2. I forgot my booties on my first sail of the season this year. I was going to go ahead & wear my sneakers & just deal with the fact that they were going to get soaked (better that than chance a tear in my drysuit’s built-in socks), but our commodore actually happens to wear the same size shoe as me & he loaned me a pair.

    I don’t think I’ve ever forgotten anything that kept me from going.

    I think the worst thing I ever forget was sunscreen application once on an all-day trip. I named the resulting blisters Jed and Ed. One on each arm, each the size of half a golf ball. I was very protective of Jed and Ed.

    March 23, 2010 at 12:26 PM

Leave a Reply

