All about kayaking from the San Francisco Bay Area

6 MILE RUN

Today was all about getting 6 miles under my belt utilizing my new Forerunner.  It worked great!  I haven’t really looked at the data or analyzed it, but it was really great to see my exact distance and monitor my speed.  I worked on my forward stroke with the new wing paddle and interestingly, when I felt “the groove” my speed was up. Funny how that works. (:

It was a really calm and sunny day.  I started out about an hour before high tide this AM.  There was the slightest breeze the last mile or two.  I stayed in the sloughs today.  There were lots of birds……..

I went out the main channel and turned south into Westpoint Slough just before entering the bay.  I paddled 3 miles which took me past some very modern business buildings.  What a vista if you worked there.  I turned around at three miles and headed back.  The tide was on ebb as I headed back into the marina.  I saw five or six other kayaks, a few paddleboards and dragon boats.  The young sailors were out too. I have a 3-day weekend, so I’ll be going out again Monday.

eat well, sleep well…….paddle fast

One response

  1. STan

    Gotta love three day weekends. Good luck with the training. Sounds like a beautiful area to do it in. I have fond memories of San Franciso. I was on a tour once to Alcatraz, wouldn’t mind paddling around there. I remember the waters being very active.

    Stan

    March 28, 2010 at 4:38 AM

Leave a Reply

