All about kayaking from the San Francisco Bay Area

A ROLLING DAY

I’ve decided it’s time to learn how to roll.  Well, I’ve committed to trying anyways. (:  I’m still working out some of the details but I’ve located a couple of coaches who teach in a pool only a few miles from me.  I can come home after work, load the kayak, take my lessons and be back home by 8:30 PM.

Generally I paddle on Thurs.’, but they’ve forecast 25k winds in the afternoon tomorrow, so if it all works out, I’ll be in the pool instead. Wind advisories continue in the bay and it doesn’t even look too good for the weekend.  Hopefully it’ll settle enough by Sat. that maybe I can get back on the water if I go EARLY in the morning.

I’ve pretty much decided kayaking is my major sport for life and a lifestyle I want to live.  So, in addition to learning to roll, I think I may go for some kind of certification.  Let me know what you think by voting in the below poll.

eat well, sleep well…………paddle fast!

2 responses

  1. PO

    I truly think rolling is more psychological than physical. I think Ben Lawry’s video is awesome. Pool sessions are the way to go. But it has to become something you always do. throw a roll in at the end of a paddle – or beginning. Once you have it, it’s a blast.

    have fun.

    PO

    April 29, 2010 at 6:53 AM

  2. ACA & BCU both have solid, well-thought-out syllabi. Classes from both are as good as the instructor who’s teaching it. I’ve been lucky enough to mostly have & work with great instructors from both organizations. The odd, rare situations where I’ve found myself dealing with an instructor who didn’t work we for me or with me were always more matters of individual personality, not so much about which “school” they’d been trained up by.

    I voted for dual citizenship, or whichever one is easiest to get to!

    May 1, 2010 at 3:57 AM

Leave a Reply

