All about kayaking from the San Francisco Bay Area

OOPS!

Today’s the end of three weeks of training.  This week was pretty successful with regard to getting my miles in and little disruption from winds.  Monday was 8 miles at a moderate pace, and mostly it was a great paddle with sunny skies.  I have to admit, I was somewhat unsettled with any sudden gusts of wind.  Vigilance left over from the previous Saturday experiences.

Wednesday and Thurs. paddles were 4 miles each; one fast and one at an easy pace.  Funny how 4 miles goes by fast when you start to do 12 and 15 mile paddles once a week.  However, Thurs. I just didn’t feel right.  I seemed to be unable to get in a rhythm and didn’t feel comfortable.  It wasn’t physical, more emotional.  And, I wasn’t hungry (you know something’s wrong).  And today I was suppose to do 20 miles, but I’m feeling a little under the weather so I decided to postpone until tomorrow.  So maybe that unsettled feeling I had Thurs. was the beginning of my cold.  Tomorrow I’m going to try the Alameda Island circumnavigation again. Push-off 6 AM, and winds are predicted 5-7 mph. I invited my coach, but he chickened out. (-:

On another note, here’s a pic I borrowed from Mackayak’s blog.  Just had to post to share my horror over events in the Gulf.

eat well, sleep well………paddle fast!  Cumulative miles: 68

Leave a Reply

