All about kayaking from the San Francisco Bay Area

BUSY

I’ve been trying to keep up with reading all your blogs but haven’t had the time to sit down and write in my own.  Besides a full work week, one weekend day is working in my daughter’s new house and the other is a very long paddle.  Well the housework is done and there’s only 2 weekends left of long paddles before the CR100.  I can’t believe it; race day is almost here.  One huge change is a friend, who’s also racing, is transporting my boat.  That means I don’t have to drive and can fly.

I haven’t even had time to add up my training mileage but have had a couple really long days since my last post.  Two weeks ago I went back to the San Juaquin River and put in 30 miles solo.  Let me tell you, it’s a long slog upriver!  Here’s a picture of my one and only land break at about 13 miles.

San Juaquin River

All and all it was a good day.  Had some heat training as it was 92º. One kneecap got very sunburned as my shorts had slid up and I didn’t notice it most the day. OUCH!  It just peeled today.  Mostly it was a great confidence booster as I knew I could still do more at the end of the day.  I have to admit though, it was pretty hard carrying my boat up the ramp to the car!

Yesterday Wayne and I ran the Stanislaus River from Oakdale to Two Rivers; 43 miles.  And all down current. Not a whole lot of water left this time of year, but we were able to average 5 mph.  We were mostly slowed by many, many, many logs and trees in the river.  I think I ran into (yes into, not over) about 5, and got stuck on one. The number of logs we paddled over is too many to remember.  We also had 3 sets of rapids; my first in a sea kayak.  Two of them were about a 3 foot drop and Wayne went over in the first one (he was on a surfski).  Here’s a picture of the Stanislaus in the morning a few miles after starting out.

Stanislaus River

The river looked pretty healthy.  Clear enough to see the bottom, though it was only 3-4 feet deep in most places.  Saw lots of wildlife, which is always a good sign……..turtles, river otters, blue herons, egrets, lots of fish, crawdads, and my first golden eagle (actually several).  And because it was the weekend, lots of humans at the riverside parks we passed by.  Personally I think they’ve become overpopulated, and probably should be relocated to a more remote location. (-:

eat well, sleep well………..paddle fast! Training miles: hundreds

6 responses

  1. Stan

    Great pics and a great job. Godd luck with the race CBG.

    Stan

    August 9, 2010 at 7:50 PM

    • Thanks so much Stan. As usual I’m vicariously with you on your trips via your excellent photography.

      August 10, 2010 at 9:23 AM

  2. Good luck in your race, you’ve certainly done all the training, and should be ready. Make it fun too. When they say GO, turn it into a mental challenge and forget the physical. Your going to do great.
    Dawn

    August 10, 2010 at 7:15 AM

    • Thanks Dawn. After doing all the miles training I’ve discovered how mental it all is.

      August 10, 2010 at 4:25 PM

  3. Iain

    Good luck. One stroke at a time.

    August 16, 2010 at 12:52 PM

  4. I just posted a guide for boating on the lower Stanislaus River. Please let me know about any other information that will be helpful for boaters paddling on this river. Stanislaus River Lower Run – innertubing, kayaking, & canoeing guide. & Stanislaus River Directory – Lower Run.

    October 18, 2010 at 11:59 AM

Leave a Reply

