All about kayaking from the San Francisco Bay Area

OUTFITTING

Here’s a post before my long, weekend paddle. I’m returning to the San Juaquin River tomorrow to paddle a new section, solo. Sixteen and-a-half miles down river; Two Rivers to Mossdale County Park.  My partner’s taking me back to the beginning, and I’ll be starting over for a total of 33 miles.  I want to continue training in rivers and I can’t even think about going against the current for that long of a time.  Even though last weekend was down river (43 miles), we were slowed by so many trees in the water.  I wanted to get a better feel for trying to keep a sort of, “race pace.”  I’m suppose to do more mileage, but next weekend will be 45 to 50, so I feel OK about taking it a little easy this weekend.

It’s starting to get exciting (and anxious; it’s friggin’ far).  A couple of people who read my blog sent me good wishes for the race.  Today I received a package in the mail from a friend; a nice T-shirt and some stickers.

Then this afternoon I started some preparations for my kayak.  I put     one inch letters to add my name to my boat.

And because I paddle for  all 28 million cancer survivors, I paddle for two special friends.  One  long-time friend has a sticker with her name on it.

eat well, sleep well………paddle fast!  Training miles: hundreds

2 responses

  1. Looking good! You certainly have put in the preparation. Good luck!

    August 15, 2010 at 12:37 AM

    • Thanks so much for your words of support.

      August 15, 2010 at 6:50 PM

Leave a Reply

