All about kayaking from the San Francisco Bay Area

TWO WEEKS FROM TODAY

The mileage has started to wind down during the week.  This has afforded me time to think; oh yea, the race is 2 weeks away. Originally I’d planned to drive (1700+ miles one way), but now a friend is taking my boat and I’m flying into Austin Thurs. before the race.  That means I virtually have to be ALL organized by this upcoming Thurs. as that’s when Wayne is leaving with my boat. OMG!  I want everything I need for the race to go with him.  What if my bags get lost on the flight? A whole new level of worries. (-:  So I’m getting together all the clothes (not much as it’s almost guaranteed to be 100º), gear, mandatory equipment, and food so it’s ready to go.  I only have 4 more training paddles, one with a borrowed boat next Saturday as mine will be somewhere west of California.

One night this week I got the mandatory equipment list together, printed driving directions for my crew, and maps for each section of the river between checkpoints.

Then I spent time putting together all my supplements which I take each and every hour of the race.  While I’ve been training I’ve dialed in what and how I will eat; mostly liquid food with the occassional Clif Bar, gel, peanut butter pretzels, and fruit at the checkpoints. I will have gone as long as 9 hours under this regimen while training and hope it serves me well for the race.  I’m hoping to finish in 24 hours, but 32 is the official cut-off time.

Tomorrow Wayne and I are returning to the San Juaquin River, Two Rivers park to Dos Reis park, about a 22 mile route, down river. Thanks to Kate (my land crew at the race), again, for shuttling us back and forth; we’re going to run that route twice for a total day’s paddle of 44 miles.

So, now I’ve had my morning coffee and it’s time to go do a quick 5  miles, putting in at Redwood City.

Eat well, sleep well………..paddle fast. Training miles: hundreds

Leave a Reply

